Eat Clean or Eat Healthy? Is There Any Different?

Eating healthy? Eating Clean? is it different? Both is a same definition, right?

It depends on your opinion. For me, I will say it  is slightly different. Why? If you follow on my previous post, you might understand a bit why I said it it’s different.

Basically , ‘Eat Clean’ is all about eating a food which is totally REAL Food. No Processed food, No Refined Food, No Fast Food, No Junk Food and everything  food that is bad for body. Here are some Eat-Clean Principles:

  • Eat six small meals a day.
  • Eat breakfast every day, within an hour of getting up.
  • Eat lean protein and complex carbohydrates at every meal.
  • Have two or three servings of healthy fats every day.
  • Get fiber, vitamins, nutrients, and enzymes from fresh fruits and vegetables.
  • Control your portions.
  • Drink 2 to 3 liters of water (about 13 8-ounce cups) every day.

The foods to avoid:

  • Over-processed foods, especially white flour and sugar
  • Artificial sweeteners
  • Sugary beverages, such as soda and juice
  • Alcohol
  • Foods with chemical additives like food dyes and sodium nitrite
  • Foods with preservatives
  • Artificial foods, such as processed cheese slices
  • Saturated fats and trans fats
  • Anti-foods — calorie-dense foods with no nutritional value

What make me said that it slightly different between Eating Healthy and Eating Clean? Well, as I stated there, SLIGHTLY. Eating Clean means that you eat REAL Food. You will try to avoid all those processed food. But my definition on Eating Healthy is eat everything that our body deserve to eat but SMARTLY. Sometimes, I will eat fried chicken  and white rice for my lunch. I eat in appropriate portion (moderately) and I will make sure that I eat balance nutrient. I will have Proteins-Fibers-Carbs-Healthy Fat on my plate. At least, even though I cannot 100% eating clean, I still can eat healthy and get good nutrient from my meals. Why? I will share it.

Sometimes, I feel that myself is too obsess in eating clean until I didn’t let my body enjoy foods. I worried much on what I eat. I restrict myself too much and then starting counting calories and have a thought of guilty from eating all those food. Don’t you feel the same? But I need to wake up, think and realize that if I restrict myself like this, isn’t it same like having a diet?? restrict this and that, eventually I end up eating just fiber such as vegetables soup or raw fruits – ALMOST EVERYDAY. One of the biggest reason leading me to NOTHING-TO-EAT is because I am getting tired with this situation plus with no kitchen or cooking is allowed in my college. I always mentioned this on my previous posts.

So, this is how my definition of eating healthy changes. I will eat what is good and as long I eat it in moderation. I still keep eating clean but change it. And guess what? I found I more happy and enjoying my food even more! I don’t even binge, starve or restrict myself from food that I want to eat. But yet, in a SMART WAY. What is that? The key is always MODERATION.

What did I eat? I never skip my breakfast which is very important. I love to eat oatmeal in the morning. I used to eat hard boiled egg and boiled oatmeal with milk before this, but because no equipment to cook, I just eat instant oatmeal.😦 or sometimes wholemeal bread with NATURAL peanut butter. Me love PB!!

For lunch, I will make sure I get good energy from food that I eat. Well, a white rice with side dishes which are contained vege, proteins such as chicken meat/fish or Tempe/Tofu. See? Complete and balance portion. Hahaha! As long it not a fast food that contained much chemicals ingredients (preservatives/artificial foods, etc), it is okay to eat. That is why it is important to know what is your food made from and ingredient in it. Now do you get it why it is better and important for you to eat/cook at home?

For my dinner, I try to avoid simple carbs such as white rice or vermicelli since I’ve eat it during lunch. I try to get protein such as Telur Bistik (Sweet and Sour +  Meaty Eggs), vege soups, or Telur Kung Fu. Try to discover more on your menus so you can order different type of food every time you having a dinner. Never be ashamed to ask something new, who might know that you will discover a new menu for that restaurant?? Haha~

Snacking if you can. Get a nuts or fruits between your meal. It will helps to make your metabolism in pace. Remember, eating clean suggest you to eat 4-6 small portion. Eat when you feel hungry. Stop when you almost full. Snacking with good foods. Avoid eating junk food. As I said, choose SMARTLY.

Don’t forget to exercise. Eat healthy is important but exercise is also important too. Besides than getting a fit body, the most important to exercise is gaining METABOLISM. Who doesn’t want a high metabolism, right? I want to get high metabolism so I can eat MORE!!!!!!! That is the goal! I love to eat!

Honestly, I don’t know how this way can help me in losing weight and getting a fitter body. I trust that as long as I don’t get lazy, move more, train more and workout more, there is nothing to worry. Yes, I eat everything what I want but I still need to choose it WISELY and SMARTLY. Without this combination, everything is useless. Let’s Do our best and pray for the best for our  healthy life!!

What is your opinion regarding this EATING CLEAN and EATING HEALTHY? Do you have something that questioning in your mind? Share with me. I love to hear your opinion and see a better suggestion.

Until then, Eat Clean, Eat Smart, Eat Healthy! Wink wink~!!😉😉

Citation and credit to WebMD – Eat Clean Review ( http://www.webmd.com/diet/eat-clean-diet )

Here's To Healthy

Your Option Eating

Leave a Reply

