Is Healthy Eating The Same As Going On A Diet?

Healthy eating is not a diet. It means making changes you can live with and enjoy for the rest of your life. A totally changes in lifestyle. HEALTHY LIFESTYLE.

Diets are temporary. Because you give up so much when you diet, you may be hungry and think about foods all the time. And after you stop dieting, you also may overeat to make up for what you missed. That was what I was struggling even until now. Crash diet and yo-yo diet because I want a faster results and look slimmer and thinner in a fastest way. I want to look good and gain confident. But in the end, I keep binge most of the time during or after my diet. Those crash diets usually last for about 2 weeks and later on, I will eat and eat and eat everything that I didn’t touch or resist during my diet.

Eating a healthy, balanced variety of foods is far more satisfying. And if you match that with more physical activity, you are more likely to get to a healthy weight—and stay there—than if you diet. You can eat what you want to eat and you will learn and adapt to eat in moderation. I am still learning to eat moderately. I am a girl who loves to eat and eat and eat. Trust me, I can even eat  1/2 kg of cake in one night. Eat a box of large pizza or more than 20 pieces of it by my own and unlimited pastry. Yes, I am carbohydrate addicted. I can have a mood swing or headache or easy to get mad  if I don’t eat carbs in a day. But slowly I change it. Try to have a complex carbs rather than satisfy your appetite with simple carbs.  Week by week, you gonna feel changes. I still can drooling when I smell baked pastry or cake, but at least I can control myself better than before. It tough at couple of weeks. I know that feeling. Why don’t you have a try?😉

How do you make healthy eating a habit?

First, think about your reasons for healthier eating. Do you want to improve your health? Do you want to feel better? Are you trying to set an example for your kids?

Honestly, at first I wanted to look slim. I want to cut of those fat inside me. I want to get the best body that I never had. But later on, I keep restrict myself too much. Somehow I become too strict on my food and almost cut off on everything. It is something that I won’t deny that I hate to see myself in front of mirror. I wish everyday that I can look slim and pretty so I can gain my confident to stand with those people. WISH. It is nothing if I don’t DO something about it.  Exercise is part of healthy lifestyle. Never forget that. But if I don’t control on my eating habit, all those exercises are meaningless. I am trying to having a balance between Exercise and Eat Healthy. Try to at least have a 30 minutes of walking in a day. Have you ever counted how many times did you move in a day especially in this modern lifestyle and job that make you sit almost 23 hours per day? You might be surprise to see how many minutes that you spend to move in a day. If you don’t move a lot, change that habit. Use stairs, walk around your blocks and you might see a different views that you never see before this.Afraid of Sweats?unless you don’t have to meet anyone else such as client, afraid not. Keep your fat or burn it!

Next, think about some small changes you can make. Pick ones you can keep doing.

  • Don’t try to change everything at once. How about cut your cheesy wedges when you eating fast food? 2nd week, try to cut your soda drink. After third week, try to eat 1 piece of chicken only. Finally, do your best to cut your fast food eating habit. See the different!
  • Set an easy goal you can reach, like having a salad and a piece of fruit each day. Store fruits in your fridge or your racks!
  • Make a long-term goal too, such as having one vegetarian dinner a week or drink 3 liter of  water per day, as simple as that?😉 tips: water helps in increasing your metabolism meaning it BURNS your FATS!! Click here for more tips on What To Drink?

How do you get started on healthy eating?

Healthy eating starts with learning new ways to eat, such as adding more fresh fruits, vegetables, and whole grains and cutting back on foods that have a lot of fat, salt, and sugar.

Fast food? Absolutely. Too many chemicals that you can’t see with your naked eyes which are hazardous to our body but you still eat it. Not many people concern about chemicals inside of their food. Mostly they concern more on calories. “Should I eat this less because of it is high in calories?” instead of worry about chemicals that harm their body in long term such as artificial flavors, preservatives, sweeteners and food additive which can cause cancers and diseases. Especially nowadays food labels are quite confusing. They tend to put a branding of ‘Health’ in their label but it is totally bad for you.

Making a example such as yogurt that is said to be healthy. But bear in mind that, yogurt is healthy when there is no sugar or artificial flavor. Best yogurt is plain yogurt with fresh fruits as flavor. Another example is Peanut Butter. Cholesterol-free or Fat -Free doesn’t mean that it good for you. Fats that contained in peanuts are essential and good for our body (eg brain and waistline) but unfortunately many people are afraid of it. Removing it from peanuts brings more harm that good. You will not get a good and essential nutrition from food that you are eating.  Learn how to read a label in a right way. Get a bit knowledge on food nutrition. Hey, at least you learn something here,right?

A change to healthier eating also includes learning about balance, variety, and moderation.  I always try to educate myself the importance of MODERATION. Even though you are eating a healthy food doesn’t mean that you can eat lots of it. It still can cause a bad effect for our body too. You may check on my previous post regarding this! Click Here!

Aim for balance. Most days, eat from each food group—grains, protein foods, vegetables and fruits, and dairy. Listen to your body. Eat when you’re hungry. Stop when you feel satisfied.
Look for variety. Be adventurous. Choose different foods in each food group. For example, don’t reach for an apple every time you choose a fruit. Eating a variety of foods each day will help you get all the nutrients you need.
Practice moderation. Don’t have too much or too little of one thing. All foods, if eaten in moderation, can be part of healthy eating. Even sweets can be okay.

Why pay attention to what you eat?

Healthy eating will help you get the right balance of vitamins, minerals, and other nutrients. It will help you feel your best and have plenty of energy. It can help you handle stress better.

Healthy eating is one of the best things you can do to prevent and control many health problems, such as:

  • Heart disease.
  • High blood pressure.
  • Type 2 diabetes.
  • Some types of cancer.

Where can you get support?

Having support from others can be a huge help. The more support you have, the easier it will be to make changes. Ask family and friends to practice healthy eating with you. Have them help you make meals, and share healthy, delicious recipes and cooking tips.

It might be hard at first when you trying to change it. You might think that your friends or colleagues will laughing at you because you trying to be different from them. I also having same experience. Until now, some of my friends still mocking me on what I am trying to do. Don’t be afraid because we are doing good things here. It is nothing to be ashamed of. Who knows in a future, you might become their role model in having a healthy lifestyle? You will never know what is waiting for us ahead. Be positive and look ahead.

If you need more help, talk to your doctor or a registered dietitian. Look online for groups that support healthy eating and share success stories.

Before I end my writing here, let me ask you one question. What do you imagine or expect of “Healthy Body”?  Are you thinking of skinny model? Why don’t you think that your body is the perfect healthy body? Is it skinny the best definition of health? Are You agree with me if I said it is a stereotype?? See you next time!!😉

Stay Wow and Wink Wink~!!

Credit to WebMD Healthy Eating Review (http://www.webmd.com/food-recipes/tc/healthy-eating-overview)

dump your diet

Leave a Reply

